Training Contract Application Help and Advice

Like most Law students, I spent four gruesome years applying for Training Contracts, taking part in psychometric tests and attending interviews (from my second year at uni (2015 until 2019). This experience was incredibly painful and I encountered rejection after rejection. Nevertheless, I didn’t give up.

After every application, I would learn what worked and what didn’t work. I was able to develop on my experiences and use them to better my applications. With each application I did, I could see new ways to jam pack information into the tiny word counts and refine my grammar to new heights.

This whole experience taught me that sometimes the firm you want is just not right for you and believe me when I say, things will always work out in the end.

Gaining all this knowledge and experience, I decided to start mentoring aspiring lawyers and guide them with their applications. After a while of tutoring, I designed a document which encompasses all my insights and advice from the Training Contract process. This document includes helpful tips and tricks and also includes some of my answers, which were submitted on successful applications. The document may include things you already know and it may include things you have never thought of before but the whole purpose is to give others a chance to gain guidance from early on in the process.

So far, I have handed this out to all of my Mentees and it has been widely praised. Therefore, please feel free to download the document and have a look for yourself.

I hope this assists in some way and good luck with your journey!

Meg

DISCLAIMER: This document was produced solely from my own personal experience of the training contract application process and is not to be taken as fact. All suggestions and comments should be treated as guidance only. This document should only be shared at the permission of the author.

If you have any questions or would like your application to be proofed or would like further advice and guidance for video interviews, psychometric tests, partner interviews, case studies and assessment days, please send either to my email address found in the footer of this document.

Leave a comment